Skip to main content

The Board

Richard Oldfield OBE (64) - Chairman

Chairman of the Nomination Committee

Appointed to the Board in June 2016. He is Chairman of Oldfield Partners LLP, and former Chairman of Keystone Investment Trust plc. He was previously Chief Executive of Alta Advisers and a Director of Mercury Asset Management plc. He is also a trustee of the Prince’s Trust.

Non-Executive Director Richard Oldfield DL

Jonathan Neame DL (56) - Chief Executive

Joined the Company in 1991. Was Company Secretary until July 1994 and Tied Trade Director until 1999 when he was appointed Managing Director; he was appointed Chief Executive in 2003. He is a Barrister-at-law and was a Management Consultant with the COBA Group from 1987 to 1991. He was Chairman of the British Beer and Pub Association from 2012 to 2015 and a Non-Executive Director of the St Austell Brewery Company Ltd from 2002 until May 2018. He was appointed a director of the Brewers of Europe in 2020. He was Chairman of Visit Kent from 2015 until 2020. He has been a Trustee of the Leeds Castle Foundation since 2011. He is the Upper Warden of the Worshipful Company of Brewers and a Deputy Lieutenant of Kent. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Kent in 2016.

Chief Executive Jonathan Neame

Mark Rider (44) - Finance & IT Director

Appointed to the Board in February 2012. He joined the Company from J Sainsbury plc, where he held a number of senior finance roles. Prior to joining Sainsbury he qualified as a chartered accountant at PricewaterhouseCoopers. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Finance and IT Director Mark Rider

George Barnes (66) - Property & Services Director

Joined the Company in 1978. He is a Chartered Surveyor and Registered Valuer and was appointed to the Board in January 2001. Became Property and Services Director with effect from July 2014. He is also a Director of the Pub Governing Body.

Property and Services Director George Barnes

Nigel Bunting (53) - Retail & Tenanted Operations Director

Joined the Company in 1993. He has held various senior management positions including head of tenanted and retail pub operations. He was appointed to the Board as Retail Director in August 2005 and became Retail and Tenanted Operations Director with effect from July 2014. He is a Non-Executive Director of Davy and Co Ltd.

Retail and Tenanted Operations Director Nigel Bunting

Hilary Riva OBE (63) - Non-Executive Director

Chair of the Remuneration Committee

Appointed to the Board in April 2016. She was most recently a Non-Executive Director of ASOS Plc until April 2020 and previously a Non-Executive Director of Shaftesbury Plc, London and Partners Limited, Chief Executive of the British Fashion Council , a Managing Director of Rubicon Retail and a member of the Management Board of Arcadia. She holds a directorship in Swan Quay LLP, The Alexander Centre CIC and most recently became a Board member and director of The Canterbury Festival.

Non-Executive Director Hilary Riva OBE

Bill Brett (55) - Non-Executive Director

Chairman of the Audit Committee

Appointed to the Board in September 2013. He is Executive Chairman of Robert Brett & Sons Ltd.

Non-Executive Director Bill Brett

Kevin Georgel (50) - Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board in November 2020. He was appointed Chief Executive of St Austell Brewery in January 2020 having previously been the Chief Executive of Admiral Taverns. He has worked in the UK pub and brewing sector for over 20 years holding senior sales, marketing and operations roles at Molson Coors and Punch Taverns. He was previously non-executive chairman of Dartmoor Brewery and is currently a director of the British Beer & Pub Association.

Glenda Flanagan (55) - Company Secretary

Joined the Company in 2006 as Finance Manager and subsequently headed the finance department. She has previously held senior finance roles in both the hospitality and technology industries. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants having qualified as a chartered accountant with BDO.

Glenda Flanagan